Olympic drawing of lots sets pools for Tokyo

05.07.2021 - Vienna, Austria

The European teams that will compete in Japan now know their first opponents in the tournament

The 24 European beach volleyball teams (13 men’s and 11 women’s) that qualified for the Tokyo Olympics found out on Monday who will be their first opponents in Japan as the drawing of lots for the Olympic tournament was completed in Moscow, Russia.

The 24 duos in each gender that secured the right of making the trip to Tokyo later this month will be split in six groups of four and will play each of their three pool opponents in the first stage of the event. First and second-placed teams in each pool advance directly to the Round of 16, as do the two best third-place finishers. The other four will be drew in two elimination matches with the winner moving on.

The winners of the last three editions of the EuroBeachVolley and the top-ranked team in the world right now, Norwegians Anders Mol and Christian Sørum will head pool A and will play against Konstantin Semenov/Ilya Leshukov, who will represent the Russian Olympic Committee, Adrian Gaviura/Pablo Herrera of Spain and Christopher McHugh/Damien Schumann of Australia.

Reigning world champions Oleg Stoyanovskiy and Viacheslav Krasilnikov, who will represent the Russian Olympic Committee in Tokyo, will also be part of an European-heavy pool B. They will meet Latvia’s Martins Plavins/Edgars Tocs, Czech Republic’s Ondrej Perusic/David Schweiner and Mexico’s Jose Rubio/Josue Gaxiola.

Pool F will also feature three European teams in Germany’s Julius Thole/Clemens Wickler, Italy’s Paolo Nicolai/Daniele Lupo and Poland’s Piotr Kantor/Bartosz Losiak.

Reigning European champions Joana Heidrich and Anouk Vergé-Dépré of Switzerland were drawn on women's pool A and will face reigning world champions and top-seeded Sarah Pavan and Melissa Humana-Paredes of Canada, Julia Sude and Karla Borger of Germany and Dutch up-and-comers Raisa Schoon and Katja Stam.

Reigning Olympic champion Laura Ludwig and her German partner Maggie Kozuch will also have two fellow Europeans on their side on Pool F. Switzerland’s Tanja Hüberli/Nina Betschart, Czech Republic’s Marketa Sluková/Barbora Hermannová and Japan’s Miki Ishii/Megumi Murakami are the other teams in the pool.

These are the two pools with the most European teams, with three representatives each. Pool C is the only to not have any teams from the continent while Pool D features only one, 2019 EuroBeachVolley winners Tina Graudina and Anastasija Kravcenoka of Latvia.

The beach volleyball Olympic tournament is set to start on July 24, with ten matches scheduled for the day. The women’s medal matches are set to happen on August 6, when day before the deciding matches for the men. The full calendar is expected to be announced over the next week.

After completing their participation at the Tokyo Olympics, the European teams will head straight to Vienna to take part in the A1 CEV EuroBeachVolley presented by Swatch, from August 11-15.

 

Olympic Pools – Men

Pool A – Anders Mol/Christian Sørum (Norway), Konstantin Semenov/Ilya Leshukov (Russian Olympic Committee), Adrian Gavira/Pablo Herrera (Spain), Christopher McHugh/Damien Schumann (Australia)

Pool B – Oleg Stoyanovskiy/Viacheslav Krasilnikov (Russian Olympic Committee), Ondrej Perusic/David Schweiner (Czech Republic), Martins Plavins/Edgars Tocs (Latvia), Jose Rubio/Josue Gaxiola (Mexico)

Pool C – Cherif Younousse/Ahmed Tijan (Qatar), Jake Gibb/Taylor Crabb (USA), Adrian Carambula/Enrico Rossi (Italy), Adrian Heidrich/Mirco Gerson (Switzerland)

Pool D – Alison Cerutti/Alvaro Filho (Brazil), Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen (Netherlands), Phil Dalhausser/Nick Lucena (USA), Julian Azaad/Nicolas Capogrosso (Argentina)

Pool E – Grzegorz Fijalek/Michal Bryl (Poland), Evandro Goncalves/Bruno Schmidt (Brazil), Marco Grimalt/Esteban Grimalt (Chile), Mohamed Abicha/Zouheir Elgraoui (Morocco)

Pool F – Yusuke ‘Gottsu’ Ishijima/Katsuhiro Shiratori (Japan), Julius Thole/Clemens Wickler (Germany), Paolo Nicolai/Daniele Lupo (Italy), Piotr Kantor/Bartosz Losiak (Poland)

 

Olympic Pools – Women

Pool A – Sarah Pavan/Melissa Humana-Paredes (Canada), Joana Heidrich/Anouk Vergé-Dépré (Switzerland), Julia Sude/Karla Borger (Germany), Raisa Schoon/Katja Stam (Netherlands)

Pool B – April Ross/Alix Klineman (USA), Sanne Keizer/Madelein Meppelink (Netherlands), Liliana Fernandez/Elsa Baquerizo (Spain), Chen Xue/Xinxin Wang (China)

Pool C – Agatha Bednarczuk/Eduarda ‘Duda’ Lisboa (Brazil), Heather Bansley/Brandie Wilkerson (Canada), Fan Wang/Xinyi Xia (China), Ana Gallay/Fernanda Pereyra (Argentina)

Pool D – Rebecca Cavalcanti/Ana Patricia Ramos (Brazil), Kelly Claes/Sarah Sponcil (USA), Tina Graudina/Anastasija Kravcenoka (Latvia), Gaudencia Makokha/Brackcides Khadambi (Kenya)

Pool E – Taliqua Clancy/Mariafe Artacho (Australia), Nadezda Makroguzova/Svetlana Kholomina (Russian Olympic Committee), Marta Menegatti/Viktoria Orsi Toth (Italy), Leila Martinez/Lidiannis ‘Lidy’ Echeverria (Cuba)

Pool F – Miki Ishii/Megumi Murakami (Japan), Tanja Hüberli/Nina Betschart (Switzerland), Laura Ludwig/Maggie Kozuch (Germany), Marketa Sluková/Barbora Hermannová (Czech Republic)

Olympische Auslosung fixiert Pools für Tokio

06.07.2021 - Vienna, Austria

Die europäischen Teams, die in Japan an den Start gehen werden, kennen nun ihre ersten Gegner im Turnier

Die 24 europäischen Beachvolleyball-Teams (13 Männer- und elf Frauenteams), die sich für die Olympischen Spiele in Tokio qualifiziert haben, wissen nun, wer ihre ersten Gegner in Japan sein werden, nachdem am Montag die Auslosung in Moskau, Russland, abgeschlossen wurde.

Die 24 Duos pro Geschlecht, die sich das Startrecht für Tokio gesichert haben und noch diesen Monat die Reise nach Japan antreten werden, wurden in sechs Vierergruppen aufgeteilt und spielen in der ersten Phase des Turniers gegen jeden ihrer drei Poolgegner. Die Erst- und Zweitplatzierten jedes Pools qualifizieren sich direkt für das Achtelfinale, ebenso die beiden besten Drittplatzierten. Die restlichen vier Gruppendritten werden einander in KO-Spielen zugelost, die beiden Sieger steigen auf.

Die Gewinner der letzten drei Ausgaben der Europameisterschaften und das derzeit bestplatzierte Team der Welt, die Norweger Anders Mol und Christian Sørum, führen Pool A an und treten gegen Konstantin Semenov/Ilya Leshukov, die das Russische Olympische Komitee vertreten, Adrian Gaviura/Pablo Herrera aus Spanien und Christopher McHugh/Damien Schumann aus Australien, an.

Die amtierenden Weltmeister Oleg Stoyanovskiy und Viacheslav Krasilnikov, das zweite Team, das das Russische Olympische Komitee in Tokio vertreten wird, sind neben Martins Plavins/Edgars Tocs aus Lettland und Ondrej Perusic/David Schweiner aus der Tschechischen Republik Teil des europäisch geprägten Pools B. Dieser wird von Jose Rubio/Josue Gaxiola aus Mexiko komplettiert.

In Pool F treten mit den Deutschen Julius Thole/Clemens Wickler, den Italienern Paolo Nicolai/Daniele Lupo und den Polen Piotr Kantor/Bartosz Losiak ebenfalls drei europäische Teams an.

Die amtierenden Europameisterinnen Joana Heidrich und Anouk Vergé-Dépré aus der Schweiz wurden dem Pool A der Damen zugelost und treffen dort auf die Weltmeisterinnen und topgesetzten Sarah Pavan und Melissa Humana-Paredes aus Kanada, Julia Sude und Karla Borger aus Deutschland sowie die niederländischen Nachwuchsspielerinnen Raisa Schoon und Katja Stam.

Auch die amtierende Olympiasiegerin Laura Ludwig und ihre deutsche Partnerin Maggie Kozuch haben in Pool F mit den Schweizerinnen Tanja Hüberli/Nina Betschart und den Tschechinnen Marketa Sluková/Barbora Hermannová zwei europäische Kontrahentinnen in der Gruppe. Vervollständigt wird der Pool von den Japanerinnen Miki Ishii/Megumi Murakami.

Pool A und F sind mit jeweils drei Vertretern die beiden Pools mit den meisten europäischen Teams, Pool C ist der einzige, in dem keine Teams aus Europa vertreten sind, während Pool D nur ein europäisches Team zugelost wurde, die Gewinnerinnen der Beachvolleyball Europameisterschaften 2019, Tina Graudina und Anastasija Kravcenoka aus Lettland.

Der Beachvolleyball-Bewerb beginnt bei Olympia am 24. Juli, zehn Spiele sind für diesen Tag angesetzt. Bei den Damen werden die Medaillenränge am 6. August ausgespielt, die Herren folgen einen Tag später. Der vollständige Turnierkalender wird voraussichtlich im Laufe der nächsten Woche bekannt gegeben.

Nach der Teilnahme an den Olympischen Spielen in Tokio geht es für die europäischen Teams direkt weiter nach Wien, wo vom 11. bis 15. August mit den A1 CEV Beach Volleyball Europameisterschaften presented by Swatch das nächste Highlight ansteht.

 

Olympische Pools – Herren

Pool A - Anders Mol/Christian Sørum (Norwegen), Konstantin Semenov/Ilya Leshukov (Russisches Olympisches Komitee), Adrian Gavira/Pablo Herrera (Spanien), Christopher McHugh/Damien Schumann (Australien)

Pool B - Oleg Stoyanovskiy/Viacheslav Krasilnikov (Russisches Olympisches Komitee), Ondrej Perusic/David Schweiner (Tschechische Republik), Martins Plavins/Edgars Tocs (Lettland), Jose Rubio/Josue Gaxiola (Mexiko)

Pool C - Cherif Younousse/Ahmed Tijan (Katar), Jake Gibb/Taylor Crabb (USA), Adrian Carambula/Enrico Rossi (Italien), Adrian Heidrich/Mirco Gerson (Schweiz)

Pool D - Alison Cerutti/Alvaro Filho (Brasilien), Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen (Niederlande), Phil Dalhausser/Nick Lucena (USA), Julian Azaad/Nicolas Capogrosso (Argentinien)

Pool E - Grzegorz Fijalek/Michal Bryl (Polen), Evandro Goncalves/Bruno Schmidt (Brasilien), Marco Grimalt/Esteban Grimalt (Chile), Mohamed Abicha/Zouheir Elgraoui (Marokko)

Pool F - Yusuke 'Gottsu' Ishijima/Katsuhiro Shiratori (Japan), Julius Thole/Clemens Wickler (Deutschland), Paolo Nicolai/Daniele Lupo (Italien), Piotr Kantor/Bartosz Losiak (Polen)

 

Olympische Pools - Damen

Pool A - Sarah Pavan/Melissa Humana-Paredes (Kanada), Joana Heidrich/Anouk Vergé-Dépré (Schweiz), Julia Sude/Karla Borger (Deutschland), Raisa Schoon/Katja Stam (Niederlande)

Pool B - April Ross/Alix Klineman (USA), Sanne Keizer/Madelein Meppelink (Niederlande), Liliana Fernandez/Elsa Baquerizo (Spanien), Chen Xue/Xinxin Wang (China)

Pool C - Agatha Bednarczuk/Eduarda 'Duda' Lisboa (Brasilien), Heather Bansley/Brandie Wilkerson (Kanada), Fan Wang/Xinyi Xia (China), Ana Gallay/Fernanda Pereyra (Argentinien)

Pool D - Rebecca Cavalcanti/Ana Patricia Ramos (Brasilien), Kelly Claes/Sarah Sponcil (USA), Tina Graudina/Anastasija Kravcenoka (Lettland), Gaudencia Makokha/Brackcides Khadambi (Kenia)

Pool E - Taliqua Clancy/Mariafe Artacho (Australien), Nadezda Makroguzova/Svetlana Kholomina (Russisches Olympisches Komitee), Marta Menegatti/Viktoria Orsi Toth (Italien), Leila Martinez/Lidiannis 'Lidy' Echeverria (Kuba)

Pool F - Miki Ishii/Megumi Murakami (Japan), Tanja Hüberli/Nina Betschart (Schweiz), Laura Ludwig/Maggie Kozuch (Deutschland), Marketa Sluková/Barbora Hermannová (Tschechische Republik)