Olympic Pools Breakdown – Men

08.07.2021 - Vienna, Austria

Here’s our detailed analysis of the pools for the Tokyo Games

The beach volleyball pools for the Tokyo Olympics are set! The drawing of lots was concluded on Monday in Moscow and we’ve already brought you all the relevant info about it.

Now it’s time to dive a little deeper and get some insights on what to be looking for when the Olympics come in a few weeks. We started with the women and now it’s time to look at the men.

 

Pool A

Teams: Anders Mol/Christian Sørum (Norway), Konstantin Semenov/Ilya Leshukov (Russian Olympic Committee), Adrian Gavira/Pablo Herrera (Spain), Christopher McHugh/Damien Schumann (Australia)

What to Expect: If the Norwegians get back to their form of two years ago, it will be difficult to stop them from winning the pool. Russians and Spanish are strong in their own ways and have every reason to think about winning medals but will need to play their best to handle the Australians, who are not constant presences in the World Tour but play a crafty and entertaining style of beach volleyball.

Key Match: Semenov/Leshukov vs. Herrera/Gavira. Finishing second or third in the pool might make a big difference as it could potentially avoid an always dangerous extra elimination match and that’s what could be at stake here. It will also be interesting to see what the Russians do to stop the Spanish, who are a real side out machine.

Did You Know? With his appearance in Tokyo, Herrera will become just the third beach volleyball player to compete in five different editions of the Games, joining Olympic champions Emanuel Rego of Brazil and Natalie Cook of Australia. USA’s Kerri Walsh Jennings was in four Olympics as a beach volleyball player and in another one playing indoors.

 

Pool B

Teams: Oleg Stoyanovskiy/Viacheslav Krasilnikov (Russian Olympic Committee), Ondrej Perusic/David Schweiner (Czech Republic), Martins Plavins/Edgars Tocs (Latvia), Jose Rubio/Josue Gaxiola (Mexico)

What to Expect: There should be intense fight on this pool as each team on it can beat any other on any given day. The Russians are the reigning world champions and still the favorites but they’ve been inconsistent and already lost to Czechs and Mexicans on the World Tour. The Latvians missed some tournaments this year and will probably be better-rested than most of their opponents but will also need to quickly find their best form.

Key Match: Stoyanovskiy/Krasilnikov vs. Plavins/Tocs. Any match on this pool will have meaningful implications in every team’s situation but this one is hard to pass. It reunites the only two players with Olympic experience in the pool, Krasilnikov and Plavins, and is an interesting clash of styles as the Russians are known for their power while the Latvians excel on their ball control.

Did You Know? Rubio and Gaxiola were technically the last men’s team to secure their place in Tokyo as the day after they helped Mexico winning the NORCECA Continental Cup they had to get back on the court to play countrymen Juan Virgen and Lombardo Ontiveros for the right of representing their country at the Olympics.

 

Pool C

Teams: Cherif Younousse/Ahmed Tijan (Qatar), Jake Gibb/Taylor Crabb (USA), Adrian Carambula/Enrico Rossi (Italy), Adrian Heidrich/Mirco Gerson (Switzerland)

What to Expect: The Qatari started the season on fire, appearing in three-straight gold medal matches in Cancun, and are probably the better-equipped to deal with Tokyo’s heat. The Italians are also in good form in 2021 and counted on several good results to qualify. Gibb and Crabb have always had a good balance on their team while Heidrich and Gerson might still be hot after winning the European Continental Cup Finals. It’s a tough pool to predict with four teams that could finish anywhere from first to last.

Key Match: Carambula/Rossi vs. Heidrich/Gerson. These teams battled out for months trying to get in to the top-15 of the Olympic rankings and qualify for Tokyo. The Italians ultimately did it, but the Swiss eventually found their way to Japan via the Continental Cup. Now they could play each other for the right of remaining in the Olympic tournament.

Did You Know? Three of the eight players in the pool were born in different countries than the ones they play for. Cherif was born in Senegal, Ahmed in Gambia and Carambula in Uruguay.

 

Pool D

Teams: Alison Cerutti/Alvaro Filho (Brazil), Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen (Netherlands), Phil Dalhausser/Nick Lucena (USA), Julian Azaad/Nicolas Capogrosso (Argentina)

What to Expect: The Argentineans will have a tough life here with three teams with Olympic medalists on it. Alison is the reigning Olympic champion and had some good results with Alvaro despite been inconsistent at times. The Dutch recently ended a long draught of titles at the World Tour and might be getting back to the team that was among the best in the world. The Americans have long been among the elite of the sport and even though they’re bon on their 40s, can still upset the best. It’s likely these three teams will qualify, but it’s hard to predict in which order.

Key Match: Alison/Alvaro vs. Dalhausser/Lucena. This could very well be the last time we see two of the most dominant blockers in the story of the sport playing each other as Dalhausser is about to retire. It that alone wasn’t enough, Alvaro and Lucena are among the planet’s most spectacular defenders.

Did You Know? This is easily the pool with the most Olympic medalists on it. Alison (one gold, one silver), Brouwer (one bronze), Meeuwsen (one bronze) and Dalhausser (one) have as many medals among them as the players from all other five pools combined.

 

Pool E

Teams: Grzegorz Fijalek/Michal Bryl (Poland), Evandro Goncalves/Bruno Schmidt (Brazil), Marco Grimalt/Esteban Grimalt (Chile), Mohamed Abicha/Zouheir Elgraoui (Morocco)

What to Expect: This pool will give teams that haven’t been brilliant yet in 2021 a chance to warm up ahead of the elimination. In theory, Poland and Brazil should fight for the top spot with the Chileans probably beating the Moroccan for third place. Fijalek/Bryl and Evandro/Bruno are two teams with the potential to win medals and they will have a chance to show it right from the start.

Key Match: Evandro/Bruno vs. Fijalek/Bryl. In terms of quality and experience, it’s hard to beat these two teams. They met only once before, in an amazing battle at the 2019 Vienna Major in which Bruno got injured near the end, so it would be fun to see both teams at their best playing each other again.

Did You Know? Marco Grimalt will experience a very special moment in his career before hitting the sand in Tokyo as he was selected to be one of Chile’s flag bearers in the Olympic Opening Ceremony.

 

Pool F

Teams: Yusuke ‘Gottsu’ Ishijima/Katsuhiro Shiratori (Japan), Julius Thole/Clemens Wickler (Germany), Paolo Nicolai/Daniele Lupo (Italy), Piotr Kantor/Bartosz Losiak (Poland)

What to Expect: The Japanese might be playing at home but will have to play lights out to stand a chance of moving to the elimination round. They had a difficult draw with three of the best teams in Europe and the entire world. Thole and Wicker had a fantastic 2019 but have struggles with injures this season. The Italians might have never repeated their 2016 form, in which they won the EuroBeachVolley and took silver in Rio, but are still among the best in the world. And the Polish gave strong signs of returning to their top form this year with an impressive run that secured their spots in Tokyo.  

Key Match: Thole/Wickler vs. Lupo/Nicolai. These teams got agonizingly close to winning two of the most important tournaments in the last five years, with the Italians taking silver at the Olympics and the Germans doing the same at the 2019 World Championships. They've met twice on the World Tour and both times the match went to three sets and the winner didn’t have more than three points of advantage in the tie-breaker, meaning there’s no shortage of excitement when they are on opposing sides of the net.

Did You Know? Not very well-known on the World Tour, the Japanese have both been at the Olympics already. The 44-year-old Shiratori has competed in both the Beijing 2008 and the London 2012 Games while the 37-year-old Ishijima went to China as part of Japan’s indoor volleyball team.

Analyse der olympischen Pools

08.07.2021 - Wien, Österreich

Hier ist unsere detaillierte Bewertung der Pools für die Spiele in Tokio.

Die Pools für die Olympischen Spiele in Tokio stehen fest! Die Auslosung wurde am Montag in Moskau abgeschlossen, ihr habt dazu schon alle relevanten Informationen von uns bekommen.

Jetzt ist es an der Zeit, tiefer in die Materie einzutauchen um ein paar Insight zu bekommen, worauf es in den Pools zu achten gilt wenn die Olympischen Spiele in ein paar Wochen beginnen. Die Damen haben wir im letzten Beitrag schon genauer unter die Lupe genommen, jetzt sind die Herren an der Reihe.

 

Pool A

Teams: Anders Mol/Christian Sørum (Norwegen), Konstantin Semenov/Ilya Leshukov (Russisches Olympisches Komitee), Adrian Gavira/Pablo Herrera (Spanien), Christopher McHugh/Damien Schumann (Australien)

Was zu erwarten ist: Wenn die Norweger zu ihrer Form von vor zwei Jahren zurückfinden, wird es für die restlichen Teams ganz schwierig, sie vom Poolsieg abzuhalten. Die Russen und Spanier sind auf ihre Weise stark und haben auch allen Anlass, auf einen Medaillengewinn zu spekulieren. Sie werden aber ihr Bestes geben müssen, um mit den Australiern zurechtzukommen. Diese konnten bis jetzt zwar keine konstante Präsenz auf der World Tour zeigen, verfügen aber über einen cleveren und unterhaltsamen Spielstil.

Schlüsselspiel: Semenov/Leshukov vs. Herrera/Gavira. Ein zweiter oder dritter Platz im Pool könnte einen großen Unterschied ausmachen, da die Teams dadurch vielleicht ein nie ganz ungefährliches KO-Match vermeiden könnten. Genau das könnte hier auf dem Spiel stehen. Interessant wird es auch zu sehen, wie die Russen versuchen werden, die Spanier, die als echte Side-Out-Maschinen bekannt sind, zu stoppen.

Wusstet ihr, dass Herrera mit seinem Auftritt in Tokio neben den Olympiasiegern Emanuel Rego aus Brasilien und Natalie Cook aus Australien erst der dritte Beachvolleyballer sein wird, der an fünf verschiedenen Ausgaben der Spiele teilgenommen hat? Die US-Amerikanerin Kerri Walsh Jennings war ebenfalls schon fünf Mal bei Olympia am Start, davon war sie vier Mal als Beachvolleyballerin und einmal als Hallenspielerin dabei.

 

Pool B

Teams: Oleg Stoyanovskiy/Viacheslav Krasilnikov (Russisches Olympisches Komitee), Ondrej Perusic/David Schweiner (Tschechische Republik), Martins Plavins/Edgars Tocs (Lettland), Jose Rubio/Josue Gaxiola (Mexiko)

Was zu erwarten ist: In diesem Pool sind intensive Spiele zu erwarten, da jedes Team in dieser Gruppe an einem guten Tag jeden schlagen kann. Die Russen sind zwar die amtierenden Weltmeister und immer noch die Favoriten, konnten in letzter Zeit aber noch keine konstanten Leistungen abrufen und verloren auf der World Tour bereits gegen die Tschechen du die Mexikaner. Die Letten haben dieses Jahr einige Turniere verpasst und werden deshalb wahrscheinlich besser ausgeruht sein als die meisten ihrer Gegner, müssen aber schnell ihre Bestform finden.

Schlüsselspiel: Stoyanovskiy/Krasilnikov vs. Plavins/Tocs. Jedes Spiel in diesem Pool hat bedeutsame Auswirkungen auf die weitere Reise der einzelnen Teams, aber dieses sticht besonders ins Auge- Hier treffen die beiden einzigen Spieler mit Olympia-Erfahrung im Pool, Krasilnikov und Plavins, aufeinander. Die Russen sind für ihre Power bekannt, während sich die Letten durch ihre starke Ballkontrolle auszeichnen.

Wusstet ihr, dass Rubio und Gaxiola technisch gesehen das letzte Herrenteam war, das sich seinen Startplatz für Olympia sicherte? Am Tag nachdem sich Mexiko zum Sieger beim NORCECA Continental Cup gekrönt hatte, mussten sich die beiden auf dem Platz gegen ihre Landsleute  Juan Virgen und Lombardo Ontiveros behaupten und sich ihr Recht, Mexiko bei den Olympischen Spielen zu vertreten, erkämpfen.

 

Pool C

Teams: Cherif Younousse/Ahmed Tijan (Katar), Jake Gibb/Taylor Crabb (USA), Adrian Carambula/Enrico Rossi (Italien), Adrian Heidrich/Mirco Gerson (Schweiz)

Was zu erwarten ist: Die Katari starteten mit drei Finalspielen in Cancun in die Saison und sind wahrscheinlich am besten für Tokio gerüstet. Aber auch die Italiener präsentieren sich 2021 in einer guten Form und meisterten mit mehreren guten Ergebnissen die Qualifikation. Gibb und Crabb hatten zeichneten sich schon immer durch eine gute Balance im Team aus, während Heidrich und Gerson nach ihrem Sieg beim European Continental Cup Finale heiß auf mehr sind. Pool C ist unberechenbar mit vier Teams, die überall zwischen den ersten und vierten Platz landen können.

Schlüsselspiel: Carambula/Rossi vs. Heidrich/Gerson: Die beiden Teams kämpften monatelang für Ihr Ticket für Tokio und versuchten, sich über die Rangliste zu qualifizieren. Di Italiener haben es schließlich geschafft, während sich die Schweizer über den Continental Cup ihren Weg nach Tokio geebnet haben. Nun könnten die beiden Teams gegeneinander um ihr Verbleiben im olympischen Bewerb spielen.

Wusstet ihr, dass drei der acht Spieler aus Pool C in andere Ländern geboren wurden als in denen, für die sie jetzt antreten? Cherif wurde im Senegal geboren, Ahmed in Gambia und Carambula in Uruguay.

 

Pool D

Teams: Alison Cerutti/Alvaro Filho (Brasilien), Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen (Niederlande), Phil Dalhausser/Nick Lucena (USA), Julian Azaad/Nicolas Capogrosso (Argentinien)

Was zu erwarten ist: Die Argentinier steht ein harter Kampf bevor, da sie mit drei Teams mit Olympiamedaillengewinnern in den Pool gelost wurden. Alison ist der amtierende Olympiasieger und hatte mit Alvaro einige gute Ergebnisse, obwohl die beiden zeitweise unkonstante Leistungen an den Tag legten. Die Niederländer beendeten erst kürzlich eine lange Durststrecke von Titeln auf der World Tour und könnten sich zurück an die Weltspitze kämpfen. Die Amerikaner gehörten schon seit langem zur Elite des Sports und können, auch wenn sie bereit die 40 geknackt haben, immer noch die Besten ärgern. Wir können davon ausgehen, dass sich diese drei Team qualifizieren werden. In welcher Reihenfolge ist aber schwierig vorherzusehen.

Schlüsselmatch: Alison/Alvaro vs. Dalhausser/Lucena. Dies könnte sehr gut das letzte Mal sein, dass wir zwei der dominantesten Blocker in der Geschichte gegeneinander spielen sehen, da Dalhausser kurz vor seinem Rücktritt vom Profisport steht. Damit nicht genug, gehören auch Alvaro und Lucena zu den spektakulärsten Verteidigern des Planeten.

Wusstet ihr, dass Pool D mit Abstand der Pool mit den meisten Olympiamedaillengewinnern ist? Alison (einmal Gold, einmal Silber), Brouwer (einmal Bronze), Meeuwsen (einmal Bronze) und Dalhausser (einmal Gold) haben so viele Medaillen wie die Spieler aller anderen fünf Pools zusammen.

 

Pool E

Teams: Grzegorz Fijalek/Michal Bryl (Polen), Evandro Goncalves/Bruno Schmidt (Brasilien), Marco Grimalt/Esteban Grimalt (Chile), Mohamed Abicha/Zouheir Elgraoui (Marokko)

Was zu erwarten ist: Dieser Pool gibt den Teams, die 2021 noch nicht brillieren konnten, die Chance, sich vor der K.O.-Phase aufzuwärmen. Theoretisch sollten Polen und Brasilien und dem ersten Platz in der Gruppe kämpfen, während das Rennen um Platz drei wahrscheinlich die Chilenen gegen die Marokkaner für sich entscheiden werden. Fijalek/Bryl und Evandro/Bruno sind zwei Teams, die das Potenzial haben, Medaillen zu gewinnen, und sie werden die Gelegenheit haben, dies gleich von Beginn an zu zeigen.

Schlüsselspiel: Evandro/Bruno vs. Fijalek/Bryl. In Sachen Qualität und Erfahrung sind diese beiden Teams nur schwer zu schlagen. Die Teams trafen erst ein einziges Mal aufeinander, in einem fantastischen Spiel beim Vienna Major 2019, in dem sich Bruno leider kurz vor Schluss verletzte. Gerade unter diesen Umständen wäre es toll, die beiden Teams in Bestform gegeneinander spielen zu sehen.

Wusstet ihr, dass Marco Grimalt einen ganz besonderen Moment in seiner Karriere erleben wird, bevor er in Tokio überhaupt den Court betritt? Er wurde ausgewählt, einer der Fahnenträger Chiles bei der olympischen Eröffnungsfeier zu sein.

 

Pool F

Teams: Yusuke 'Gottsu' Ishijima/Katsuhiro Shiratori (Japan), Julius Thole/Clemens Wickler (Deutschland), Paolo Nicolai/Daniele Lupo (Italien), Piotr Kantor/Bartosz Losiak (Polen)

Was zu erwarten ist: Die Japaner spielen zwar zu Hause, müssen sich aber mächtig ins Zeug legen, um eine Chance auf den Einzug in die Ausscheidungsrunde zu haben. Sie hatten eine schwierige Auslosung mit drei der besten Teams Europas und der ganzen Welt. Thole und Wicker hatten ein fantastisches 2019, haben aber in dieser Saison mit Verletzungen zu kämpfen. Die Italiener konnten zwar nie ihre Form von 2016 wiederholen, bei der sie den Europameisterschaften gewannen und in Rio Silber holten, gehören aber immer noch zu den Besten der Welt. Und die Polen haben mit einem beeindruckenden Lauf, der ihnen die Teilnahme an der WM in Tokio sicherte, gezeigt, dass sie in diesem Jahr zu ihrer Topform zurückgefunden haben. 

Schlüsselspiel: Thole/Wickler vs. Lupo/Nicolai. Diese Teams waren bei zwei der wichtigsten Turniere der letzten fünf Jahre kurz davor, den Sieg zu erringen: die Italiener holten Silber bei den Olympischen Spielen und die Deutschen bei der Weltmeisterschaft 2019. Beide Male, als sie sich gegenüberstanden, ging das Match bis zu drei Sätzen und der Sieger hatte nicht mehr als drei Punkte Vorsprung im Tiebreak, was bedeutet, dass dieses Aufeinandertreffen sicher nicht an Spannung zu überbieten sein wird.

Wusstet ihr, dass, obwohl die beiden Japaner auf der Tour nicht sehr bekannt sind, beide schon an Olympischen Spielen teilnahmen? Der 44-jährige Shiratori nahm sowohl an den Spielen in Peking 2008 als auch in London 2012 teil, während der 37-jährige Ishijima als Teil des japanischen Hallenvolleyballteams nach China reiste.