A loss that feels like a win for Ermacora

12.08.2021 - Vienna, Austria

After nearly missing the EuroBeachVolley, the Austrian star makes his debut at the Red Bull Beach Arena

Austrian star Martin Ermacora didn’t know up until Wednesday if he would be able to compete at the most important tournament of the year for him, the A1 CEV EuroBeachVolley 2021 presented by Swatch.

Involved in a car accident a few days ago, the 27-year-old blocker was dealing with the consequences of a concussion and whiplash injury, but partner Moritz Pristauz and him hit the sand at the Red Bull Arena on Thursday, the first day of the men’s tournament at the Austrian capital.

Despite fighting hard, the Austrians but ended up falling to Belgians Dries Koekelkoren and Tom van Walle in a close three-setter (15-21, 21-16, 15-13) on Pool H, but after days of uncertainty, they couldn’t be prouder of just being on the court.

“For the first performance and considering how we prepared for this tournament and the circumstances, I think we can be quite happy and proud with our performance”, said Ermacora. “I needed one set to get used to the stadium because I haven’t been there, I had no practice there. I practiced once over the last few days, but not in this venue. I needed to get used to the conditions, to the metrics of the stadium and to the wind.”

One thing the Austrian didn’t struggle with, for sure, was the unconditional support coming from the packed stands of the Red Bull Beach Arena.

“Fans were so loud that we nearly couldn’t understand each other so we had to scream and shout in order to communicate,” he explained. “And I still have goosebumps! Especially today, after being a little sick and injured in the last weeks, they gave me so much energy to get into the game.”

The Austrians now have to beat Belarus’ Aliaksandr Dziadkou and Pavel Piatrushka on their second match on Thursday to remain alive in the tournament, but regardless of how their journey ends in Vienna, they will still be proud of the simple fact they were able to play it together.

“We won’t go into this tournament with high expectations, so we just try to give our best out there and try to go point for point,” Pristauz reflected. “He hasn’t been that lucky this season with all the injuries and setbacks but I am really proud of how he handles it, not just physically but mentally.”

Eine Niederlage, die sich wie ein Sieg für Ermacora anfühlt

12.08.2021 - Wien, Österreich

Nachdem er fast nicht an der Beachvolleyball EM teilnehmen konnte, gibt der österreichische Star sein Debüt in der Red Bull Beach Arena

Der österreichische Star Martin Ermacora wusste bis Mittwoch noch nicht, ob er bei dem für ihn wichtigsten Turnier des Jahres, dem A1 CEV Beach Volleyball Europameisterschaften Wien 2021 presented by Swatch, antreten kann.

Der 27-jährige Blocker, der vor einigen Tagen in einem Autounfall verwickelt war und mit den Folgen einer Gehirnerschütterung sowie eines Schleudertraumas zu kämpfen hatte, schlug mit seinem Partner Moritz Pristauz am Donnerstag, dem ersten Tag des Männerturniers in der österreichischen Hauptstadt, in der Red Bull Arena auf.

Trotz hartem Kampf unterlagen die Österreicher in Pool H den Belgiern Dries Koekelkoren und Tom van Walle in einem knappen Drei-Satz-Spiel (15-21, 21-16, 15-13). Nach den letzten Tagen in Ungewissheit konnten sie nicht stolzer sein, auf dem Platz zu stehen.

"Für den ersten Auftritt und wenn man bedenkt, unter welchen Umständen wir uns auf dieses Turnier vorbereitet haben, können wir recht zufrieden und stolz auf unsere Leistung sein", reflektiert Ermacora. "Einen Satz lang musste ich mich erst ans Stadion gewöhnen, weil ich noch nie dort war und auch nicht dort trainiert habe. Überhaupt habe ich nur einmal in den letzten Tagen trainiert. Ich musste mich erst an die Bedingungen, an die Metrik des Stadions und an den Wind gewöhnen."

Eine Sache, mit der der Österreicher mit Sicherheit nicht zu kämpfen hatte, war die bedingungslose Unterstützung von den vollbesetzten Tribünen der Red Bull Beach Arena.

"Die Fans waren so laut, dass wir schreien mussten, um uns am Feld zu verständigen", erklärte er. "Ich habe immer noch Gänsehaut! Besonders heute, nachdem ich in den letzten Wochen ein wenig krank und verletzt war, haben sie mir so viel Energie gegeben, um ins Spiel zu kommen."

Die Österreicher müssen nun in ihrem zweiten Spiel am Donnerstag die Weißrussen Aliaksandr Dziadkou und Pavel Piatrushka schlagen, um im Turnier zu bleiben. Unabhängig davon, wie ihre Reise in Wien endet, werden sie stolz darauf sein,gemeinsam am Platz gestanden zu haben.

"Wir gehen mit nicht sehr hohen Erwartungen in dieses Turnier, also versuchen wir einfach unser Bestes zu geben und Punkt für Punkt zu holen", erklärt Pristauz die Herangehensweise. "Martin hatte in dieser Saison nicht so viel Glück mit all den Verletzungen und Rückschlägen, ich bin aber wirklich stolz darauf, wie er damit umgeht - nicht nur körperlich, sondern auch mental."