Get your tickets now!


Secure your ticket today!


As of today, both infield and gallery tickets (1st and 2nd level) for the A1 CEV BeachVolley Nations Cup Vienna 2022 are available! Be there when Europe's beach elite competes for the coveted title of European Champion of Nations and support your favourites live in the Red Bull Beach Arena.
See you @the Beach!

Get your tickets

Thole and Wickler get Olympic revenge in Vienna

12.08.2021 - Vienna, Austria

The Germans defeated Italians Lupo and Nicolai, who had beat them in Tokyo two weeks ago

Oleg Stoyanovskiy had warned us that several teams coming for the A1 CEV EuroBeachVolley Vienna 2021 presented by Swatch from the Tokyo Olympics would be looking for revenge at the Austrian capital.

Julius Thole and Clemens Wickler, who played the Russian in the final of the 2019 World Championships, were the first to accomplish it. Just two weeks after losing in a close tie-breaker to Italians Daniele Lupo and Paolo Nicolai a the Shiokaze Park Stadium, the Germans got payback with a 2-1 (18-21, 21-12, 17-15) victory that helped them winning Pool F and advancing directly to the Round of 16 in Vienna.

“The Italians are really difficult to play against and we love these matches,” Thole said. “They put a lot of pressure on their opponents and Nicolai is really good at the net, he always gets a lot of blocks. I’m very happy we won it and finished first on our pool.”

Thole and Wickler, who had defeated fellow Germans Alexander Walkenhorst and Sven Winter in straight sets (21-12, 21-19) in their opening match in the tournament, were one of eight teams to have won the pool in the opening day of the men’s tournament Vienna.

“It’s really cool to play in front of the fans again,” Wickler commented. “Here in Vienna we get a fantastic atmosphere on the side courts but we’re really looking forward to playing on the Red Bull Beach Arena. It was fantastic to see a lot of German fans supporting us here.”

Reigning Olympic champions Anders Mol and Christian Sørum of Norway were also in the group after they downed France’s Quincy Aye and Arnaud Gauthier-Rat in three sets (21-14, 18-21, 15-9) and Austrians Robin Seidl and Philipp Waller in two (21-13, 23-21) to top Pool A.

Dutch Christiaan Varenhorst and Steven van de Velde caused the biggest upset of the day when they defeated Russians Oleg Stoyanovskiy and Viacheslav Krasilnikov, the silver medalists of Tokyo, in three sets (21-12, 20-22, 15-12) to win Pool G. Earlier, they had prevailed in another three-setter (21-18, 25-27, 15-12) over Italians Jakob Windisch and Samuele Cottafava.

Other pool winners were the Netherland’s Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen, Russia’s Nikita Liamin/Taras Myskiv, Spain’s Pablo Herrera/Adrian Gavira, Belgium's Dries Koekelkoren/Tom van Walle and Czech Republic's Ondrej Perusic/David Schweiner.

Thole und Wickler nehmen in Wien Revanche für Olympia

12.08.2021 - Vienna, Austria

Die Deutschen besiegten die Italiener Lupo und Nicolai, gegen die sie vor zwei Wochen in Tokio verloren hatten.

Oleg Stoyanovskiy hat angekündigt, dass mehrere Teams, die von den Olympischen Spielen in Tokio zum A1 CEV EuroBeachVolley Vienna 2021 presented by Swatch kommen, Revanche in der österreichischen Hauptstadt nehmen möchten.

Julius Thole und Clemens Wickler, die bei der WM 2019 im Finale gegen den Russen antraten, waren die ersten, denen dies gelang. Nur zwei Wochen nach ihrer knappen Tiebreak-Niederlage gegen die Italiener Daniele Lupo und Paolo Nicolai im Shiokaze-Parkstadion revanchierten sich die Deutschen mit einem 2:1 (18-21, 21-12, 17-15)-Sieg. Damit gewannen sie Pool F gewannen und zogen direkt ins Achtelfinale in Wien ein.

"Die Italiener sind wirklich schwer zu spielen und wir lieben diese Matches", sagte Thole. "Sie üben viel Druck auf ihre Gegner aus und Nicolai ist wirklich gut am Netz, er blockt immer sehr viel. Ich bin sehr glücklich, dass wir das Spiel gewonnen haben und Erster in unserem Pool geworden sind.”

Thole und Wickler, die zum Auftakt des Turniers ihre deutschen Landsleute Alexander Walkenhorst und Sven Winter in zwei Sätzen (21-12, 21-19) besiegt hatten, waren eines von acht Teams, die sich am ersten Tag des Herrenturniers in Wien den Poolsieg holten.

"Es ist wirklich cool, wieder vor den Fans zu spielen", kommentierte Wickler. "Hier in Wien haben wir eine fantastische Atmosphäre auf den Nebenplätzen. Aber wir freuen uns sehr darauf, in der Red Bull Beach Arena zu spielen. Es war fantastisch, viele deutsche Fans zu sehen, die uns hier unterstützt haben."

Die amtierenden Olympiasieger Anders Mol und Christian Sørum aus Norwegen waren ebenfalls in dieser Gruppe, nachdem sie die Franzosen Quincy Aye und Arnaud Gauthier-Rat in drei Sätzen (21-14, 18-21, 15-9) und die Österreicher Robin Seidl und Philipp Waller in zwei Sätzen (21-13, 23-21) besiegten, um Pool A zu gewinnen.

Die Niederländer Christiaan Varenhorst und Steven van de Velde sorgten für die größte Überraschung des Tages. Sie besiegten die Russen Oleg Stoyanovskiy und Viacheslav Krasilnikov, die Silbermedaillengewinner von Tokio, in drei Sätzen (21-12, 20-22, 15-12) und gewannen damit Pool G. Zuvor hatten sie sich in einem weiteren Dreisatz-Spiel (21-18, 25-27, 15-12) gegen die Italiener Jakob Windisch und Samuele Cottafava durchgesetzt.

Weitere Poolsieger waren die Niederländer Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen, die Russen Nikita Liamin/Taras Myskiv, die Spanier Pablo Herrera/Adrian Gavira, die Belgier Dries Koekelkoren/Tom van Walle und die Tschechen Ondrej Perusic/David Schweiner.