Get your tickets now!


Secure your ticket today!


As of today, both infield and gallery tickets (1st and 2nd level) for the A1 CEV BeachVolley Nations Cup Vienna 2022 are available! Be there when Europe's beach elite competes for the coveted title of European Champion of Nations and support your favourites live in the Red Bull Beach Arena.
See you @the Beach!

Get your tickets

Dutch get chance for revenge against the Vikings

14.08.2021 - Vienna, Austria

Brouwer and Meeuwsen make it to the semifinals in Vienna and meet Mol and Sørum

Alexander Brouwer and Robert Meeuwsen’s attempt to win a second-straight medal at the Olympics in Tokyo ended at the hands of Norwegians Anders Mol and Christian Sørum, but the Dutch didn’t have to wait long to get a chance for revenge as the teams are set to meet in the semifinals of the A1 CEV EuroBeachVolley Vienna 2021 presented by Swatch on Sunday.

The Dutch fought their way to the semifinals with a close victory against the sensations of the tournament, Germans Nils Ehlers and Lukas Pfretzschner, who pushed the Rio 2016 Olympic bronze medalists and 2013 world champions to three sets (21-19, 13-21, 15-11) in the quarterfinals.

“It was such a tough match,” Meeuwsen said. “We kept fighting until the end but we couldn’t have done it without the fans. It’s absolutely impossible to look at all these fans in the stands and not give everything you have. We remained positive most of the time and believed things would go our way if we just kept fighting.”

The victory in front of a packed Red Bull Beach Arena has reinvigorated the Dutch, who after finishing ninth in Tokyo are ready to improve from the EuroBeachVolley bronze medals they won in 2017.

“Being in the top four means so much for us,” Brouwer added. “We are coming from a bad result at the Olympics and were really disappointed coming to Vienna. Our last practice before this tournament was terrible. But we leave the court today full of energy and proud to have played the way we wanted to play.”

In order to meet the Dutch, Mol and Sørum had to deny revenge to Russians Konstantin Semenov and Ilya Leshukov, who they also eliminated on their way to take gold in Tokyo. The Beach Volley Vikings had some early struggles, but came back to take the Russians down in three sets (18-21, 21-18, 15-8) and be just two victories away from an unprecedented fourth-straight EuroBeachVolley title.

“It’s been some exhausting few weeks coming from the Olympics,” Mol said. “We’re trying to put everything behind and focus on the tournament here. We were completely blown away by the Russians on the first set and I have no idea how we turned things around. I just know that we wanted to be able to play more matches here and we fought for it.”

“I thought our batteries were over after the first set,” Sørum added. “But we felt the energy of the fans, who were screaming every time we switched sides, and just wanted to play better for them. Anders served really well on the third set and those points were really important for us.”

Niederländer erhalten Chance auf Revanche gegen die Wikinger

14.08.2021 - Vienna, Austria

Brouwer und Meeuwsen erreichen das Halbfinale in Wien und treffen dort auf Mol und Sørum

Der Versuch von Alexander Brouwer und Robert Meeuwsen, eine zweite Medaille in Folge bei den Olympischen Spielen in Tokio zu gewinnen, endete in den Händen der Norweger Anders Mol und Christian Sørum, aber die Niederländer mussten nicht lange warten, um eine Chance auf Revanche zu bekommen, da die Teams am Sonntag im Halbfinale des A1 CEV Beach Volleyball Europameisterschaften Wien 2021 presented by Swatch aufeinandertreffen werden.

Die Niederländer kämpften sich mit einem knappen Sieg gegen die Sensationen des Turniers, die Deutschen Nils Ehlers und Lukas Pfretzschner, ins Halbfinale. Die Olympia-Bronzemedaillengewinner von Rio 2016 und Weltmeister von 2013 mussten sich im Viertelfinale in drei Sätzen (21-19, 13-21, 15-11) geschlagen geben.

"Es war ein so hartes Match", sagte Meeuwsen. "Wir haben bis zum Schluss gekämpft, aber ohne die Fans hätten wir es nicht geschafft. Es ist absolut unmöglich, all diese Fans auf der Tribüne zu sehen und nicht alles zu geben, was man hat. Wir sind die meiste Zeit über positiv geblieben und haben daran geglaubt, dass es uns gelingen würde, wenn wir einfach weiter kämpfen.

Der Sieg vor einer ausverkauften Red Bull Beach Arena hat die Niederländer gestärkt, die nach ihrem neunten Platz in Tokio bereit sind, sich gegenüber der EuroBeachVolley-Bronzemedaille von 2017 zu verbessern.

"Unter den ersten Vier zu sein, bedeutet so viel für uns", fügte Brouwer hinzu. "Wir kommen von einem schlechten Ergebnis bei den Olympischen Spielen und waren sehr enttäuscht, als wir nach Wien kamen. Unser letztes Training vor diesem Turnier war schrecklich. Aber wir gehen heute voller Energie vom Platz und sind stolz darauf, dass wir so gespielt haben, wie wir es wollten."

Um auf die Niederländer zu treffen, mussten Mol und Sørum die Russen Konstantin Semenov und Ilya Leshukov eine siegreiche Revanche verweigern, da sie diese auf ihrem Weg zu Gold in Tokio ebenfalls eliminiert hatten. Die Beach Volley Vikings hatten zu Beginn des Spiels einige Schwierigkeiten, kämpften sich dann aber zurück und besiegten die Russen in drei Sätzen (18-21, 21-18, 15-8), so dass sie nun nur noch zwei Siege vom vierten EuroBeachVolley-Titel in Folge entfernt sind.

"Es waren ein paar anstrengende Wochen nach den Olympischen Spielen", sagte Mol. "Wir versuchen, alles hinter uns zu lassen und uns auf das Turnier hier zu konzentrieren. Im ersten Satz wurden wir von den Russen komplett weggeblasen und ich habe keine Ahnung, wie wir das Blatt noch wenden konnten. Ich weiß nur, dass wir hier mehr Spiele machen wollten und dafür haben wir gekämpft."

"Ich dachte, unsere Batterien wären nach dem ersten Satz am Ende", fügte Sørum hinzu. "Aber wir haben die Energie der Fans gespürt, die uns bei jedem Seitenwechsel gut zugerufen haben, und wollten einfach besser für sie spielen. Anders hat im dritten Satz wirklich gut aufgeschlagen, deshalb waren diese Punkte besonders wichtig für uns."