Vienna to host A1 CEV BeachVolley Nations Cup

24.02.2022 - Vienna

Fans, sponsors and players can certainly prepare themselves for another highlight in the Austrian capital.

After the legendary World Championships in 2017 and the European Championships in August 2021, Vienna will write beach volleyball history once again with the A1 CEV BeachVolley Nations Cup. For the first time ever, the European Beach Volleyball Team Championships will take place from August 2-7, 2022 - right in the heart of Vienna. Together with the CEV, a brand new tournament format with a country vs. country structure has been created. Hannes Jagerhofer: “I am very pleased that we can once again offer the best fans in the world something absolutely new, this time even a world premiere!”

At the A1 CEV BeachVolley Nations Cup the 7 best teams in Europe will fight together with the host nation for the title as well as € 100,000 prize money per gender. The respective team captains nominate their two best men's and women's teams. The international matches will take place in a best-of-three format. First, the second-best teams compete against each other, followed by the top duos. In the event of a tie, a golden set will determine the winner; here, the team captain can also bring a completely new pairing onto the court.

The new mode with two teams per nation and gender will guarantee excitement until the very end, and provide an unforgettable spectacle for both athletes and spectators, CEV President Aleksandar Boričić is also sure: “We wish to provide more opportunities for Beach Volleyball players to perform at the highest level and we are confident that this truly unique format will deliver a real show enjoyed by players, fans and media alike.”

We can’t wait for this years’ beach highlight!

See you @ the beach!

Wien wird Gastgeber des A1 CEV BeachVolley Nations Cup

24.02.2022 - Wien

Damit können sich Fans, Sponsoren und Spielerinnen und Spieler auf ein neuerliches Highlight in der österreichischen Hauptstadt freuen.

Nach den legendären Weltmeisterschaften 2017 und den Europameisterschaften im August 2021 schreibt Wien mit dem A1 CEV BeachVolley Nations Cup ein weiteres Mal Beachvolleyball-Geschichte. Zum ersten Mal überhaupt finden von 2.-7. August 2022 Beachvolleyball Team-Europameisterschaften statt – und das im Herzen Wiens. Gemeinsam mit der CEV wurde so ein brandneues Turnierformat mit Länderspiel-Atmosphäre ins Leben gerufen. Hannes Jagerhofer: „Ich freue mich sehr, dass wir den besten Fans der Welt damit wieder etwas absolut Neues, diesmal sogar eine Weltpremiere bieten können!“

Beim A1 CEV BeachVolley Nations Cup der Nationen kämpfen die 7 besten Teams Europas gemeinsam mit der Gastgebernation um den Titel sowie € 100.000 Preisgeld pro Geschlecht. Die jeweiligen Teamchefs nominieren ihre zwei besten Damen- und Herren-Teams. Die Länderspiele finden im Best-of-Three-Format statt, zunächst spielen die zweitbesten Teams gegeneinander, dann die Top-Duos. Bei Gleichstand entscheidet ein Golden Set, hier kann der Teamchef auch eine völlig neue Paarung auf den Platz schicken.

Der neue Modus mit zwei Teams pro Nation und Geschlecht wird für Spannung bis zuletzt sorgen, und sowohl für SportlerInnen als auch für Zuschauer ein unvergessliches Spektakel bieten, ist sich auch CEV-Präsident Aleksandar Boričić sicher: „Wir möchten unseren AthletInnen mehr Möglichkeiten schaffen, auf höchstem Niveau zu spielen, und wir sind zuversichtlich, dass dieses wirklich einzigartige Format eine echte Show bieten wird, die Aktiven, Fans und Medien gleichermaßen gefällt."

Wir freuen uns schon auf das diesjährige österreichische Sporthighlight!

See you @ the beach!