History of the CEV EuroBeachVolley

 

Since 1993 the European Beach Volleyball Championships have taken place to determine the champions of Europe. Austria is hosting the EuroBeachVolley for the third time. After Klagenfurt in 2013 and 2015, this year’s showdown of the European beach elite will take place in Vienna.

When thinking back, it is particularly the memories of the gold medal won by the Schwaiger sisters in 2013 that causes the heart of the Austrian beach volleyball fans to beat faster at the very thought of a home European Championship. But, in search for a top Austrian result, there is no need to look back this far: In 2019, Martin Ermacora and Moritz Pristauz were able to top off their career so far with a bronze medal at the European Championships in Moscow. For 2021 the duo is again full of ambition and ready to prove themselves once again with a top result – this time on home soil.

In recent years, especially the dominance of the Norwegian team Mol/Sørum cannot be denied in the men’s competition. With their triumph in Jurmala in 2020 and thus their third European title in a row, the Norwegians joined an elite group of teams: Only the Swiss brothers Paul and Martin Laciga, who won the EuroBeachVolley three times in a row from 1998 to 2000, and the Dutch team Richard Schuil and Reinder Nummerdor, who finished top of the podium from 2008 to 2010, have also accomplished this mission.

In the women’s singles, the Swiss Team of Joana Heidrich and Anouk Vergé-Depré was able to claim their first gold medal at the CEV European Championships in Jurmala. Especially in the women’s competition the battle for the podium will be thrilling.

But how will the race for the title at the A1 CEV EuroBeachVolley Vienna presented by Swatch develop in 2021? Will Mol/Sørum be the first team ever in the history of the CEV European Championships to claim the crown four times in a row? Or will the European Championships on home soil and the support of the crowd lead our Austrian teams to a place on the podium? We will find out – from August 11 to 15 in Vienna!

Most successful woman at the EuroBeachVolley:

  • Laura Ludwig (GER)
  • 4x European Champion
  • 9 medals

Most successful man at the EuroBeachVolley:

  • Jonas Reckermann (GER)
  • 4x European Champion

European Champions from Austria:

  • Berger/Doppler 2003 in Alanya
  • Doppler/Gartmayer 2007 in Valencia
  • Schwaiger/Schwaiger 2013 in Klagenfurt

Nations ranking:

Women:                                                                    Men:

  1. Germany (8 titles)                                             1. Germany (5 titles), Norway (5 titles)
  2. Italy (5 titles)                                                     
  3. Netherlands (3 titles), Greece (3 titles)            3. Switzerland (4 titles), Netherlands (4 titles)

EM Geschichte

 

Seit 1993 wird bei CEV Beachvolleyball Europameisterschaften um die Krone Europas gekämpft. Österreich ist bereits zum 3. Mal Gastgeber der Europameisterschaften. Nach Klagenfurt 2013 und 2015 kommt es heuer in Wien zum Showdown der europäischen Beachelite.

Besonders die Erinnerungen an die Goldmedaille der Schwaiger-Sisters in Klagenfurt 2013 lässt das Herz von Österreichs Beachvolleyball-Fans beim Gedanken an eine Heim-EM höherschlagen. Bei den Männern muss man auf der Suche nach einem österreichischen Top-Ergebnis noch gar nicht so weit in die Vergangenheit blicken: 2019 konnten Martin Ermacora und Moritz Pristauz bei den Europameisterschaften in Moskau ihre bisherige Karriere mit einer Bronzemedaille veredeln. Auch 2021 sind die beiden voller Tatendrang und wollen mit einem Topergebnis auf heimischem Boden ein weiteres Mal aufzeigen.

In den letzten Jahren ist bei den Männern vor allem die Dominanz des norwegischen Teams Mol/Sørum nicht von der Hand zu weisen. Mit ihrem Sieg in Jurmala 2020 und dem damit dritten Europameistertitel in Folge, reihten sich die Norweger in eine elitäre Gruppe ein: Nur den Schweizer Brüdern Paul und Martin Laciga, die die Europameisterschaften von 1998 bis 2000 dreimal hintereinander gewinnen konnten, sowie den Niederländern Richard Schuil und Reinder Nummerdor, die 2008 bis 2010 immer ganz oben am Treppchen standen, gelang dieses Kunststück bisher.

Bei den Damen konnten sich bei der letzten CEV Europameisterschaften in Jurmala die beiden Schweizerinnen Joana Heidrich und Anouk Vergé-Dépré zum ersten Mal eine Goldmedaille sichern. Besonders hier wird das Rennen um die Medaillenränge an Spannung nicht zu überbieten sein.

Doch wie entwickelt sich das Rennen um den Titel bei den A1 CEV Beach Volleyball Europameisterschaften 2021 presented by Swatch in Wien? Können Mol/Sørum als erstes Team überhaupt in der Geschichte der CEV Europameisterschaften vier Mal in Folge den Kampf um den Titel für sich entscheiden? Oder werden die Heim-EM und das Publikum unsere österreichischen Teams zu einem Platz auf dem Podium führen? Wir werden sehen - vom 11. bis 15. August in Wien!

Erfolgreichste Frau bei CEV Europameisterschaften:

  • Laura Ludwig (GER)
  • 4x Europameisterin
  • 9 Medaillen

Erfolgreichster Mann bei CEV Europameisterschaften:

  • Jonas Reckermann (GER)
  • 4x Europameister

Österreichische EuropameisterInnen:

  • Berger/Doppler 2003 in Alanya
  • Doppler/Gartmayer 2007 in Valencia
  • Schwaiger/Schwaiger 2013 in Klagenfurt

Nationenwertung:

Frauen:                                                                    Herren:

  1. Deutschland (8 Titel)                                         1. Deutschland (5 Titel), Norwegen (5 Titel)
  2. Italien (5 Titel)                                                    
  3. Niederlande (3 Titel), Griechenland (3 Titel)     3. Schweiz (4 Titel), Niederlande (4 Titel)