Europeans dominate World Tour stop in Sofia

24.05.2021 - Vienna, Austria

Four of the six medals went to teams from the continent

Beach volleyball teams from Europe dominated the first-ever World Tour event in Bulgaria taking home four of the six medals in play in the one-star tournament that ended on Sunday in the country’s capital Sofia. 

The men’s tournament saw an all-European podium with Russia’s Maksim Hudyakov/Aleksandr Kramarenko been flanked by Poland’s Jakub Nowak/Maciej Rudol and Portugal’s Hugo Campos/Joao Pedrosa during the awarding ceremony. 

The Russians won their first tournament as a team after they defeated the Polish, who were playing together for the first time, 2-0 (21-18, 21-13) in the final. They finished the tournament without losing a single set. 

The 20-year-old Portuguese claimed their first World Tour medal with a 2-0 (25-23, 21-15) victory over Poland’s Jedrzej Brozyniak/Piotr Janiak in the bronze medal match. 

The women’s tournament also had an all-European bronze medal match with Austrian sisters Dorina and Ronja Klinger downing Cyprus’ Erika Nystrom, a Finnish-born player with more than 150 World Tour events of experience who was playing in her first event for the country, and Daria Gusarova 2-0 (21-17, 21-14). 

It was the second World Tour medal for the 23-year-old Dorina and the 20-year-old Ronja, who had claimed in another one-star tournament in Langkawi, Malaysia, in March 2020. 

The women’s gold medal went to American qualifiers Corinne Quiggle and Allie Wheeler, who posted a 2-0 (21-18, 21-16) victory over Venezuela’s Norisbeth Agudo and Gabi Brito to secure the title.

Europäische Teams dominieren World Tour in Sofia

24.05.2021 - Wien

Vier von sechs Medaillen gingen an europäische Teams

Im allerersten World Tour-Event in Bulgarien dominierten die europäischen Beachvolleyball Teams und konnten sich bei dem Ein-Stern Turnier, das am Sonntag in der Hauptstadt Sofia zu Ende ging, vier von sechs Medaillen sichern.

Bei den Herren standen ausschließlich Teams aus Europa auf dem Podium: Im Finale konnten sich die Russen Maksim Hudyakov/Aleksandr Kramarenko gegen die Polen Jakub Nowak/Maciej Rudol durchsetzen, die Bronzemedaille ging an die Portugiesen Hugo Campos/Joao Pedrosa.

Die Russen gewannen in Sofia ihr erstes Turnier als Team nachdem sie die Polen, die ihr erstes Turnier überhaupt zusammen bestritten, im Finale mit 2:0 (21-18, 21-13) besiegten. Die beiden beendeten das Event ohne einen einzigen Satzverlust.

Mit einem 2:0 (25-23, 21-15) konnten sich die 20-jährigen Portugiesen gegen die Polen Jedrzej Brozyniak/Piotr Janiak im Spiel um den dritten Platz die Bronzemedaille und damit ihre erste Top-3 Platzierung auf der World Tour sichern.

Bei den Damen war das Spiel um die Bronzemedaille ebenfalls ein rein europäisches Aufeinandertreffen: Hier setzten sich die Schwestern aus Österreich, Dorina und Ronja Klinger, gegen die zypriotischen Spielerinnen Erika Nystrom, eine gebürtige Finnin mit mehr als 150 World Tour-Turnieren im Gepäck, die zum ersten Mal für Zypern antrat, und Daria Gusarova mit 2:0 (21-17, 21-14) durch. 

Für die 23-jährige Dorina und die 20-jährige Ronja war es die zweite Medaille auf der World Tour, nachdem sie im März 2020 bereits in Langkawi, Malaysia, ein Ein-Stern-Turnier gewinnen konnten.

Die Goldmedaille bei den Damen ging an die amerikanischen Qualifikantinnen Corinne Quiggle und Allie Wheeler, die sich mit einem klaren 2:0 (21-18, 21-16) gegen die Venezolanerinnen Norisbeth Agudo und Gabi Brito den Turniersieg holten.