The 5 Most Experienced Players of the EuroBeachVolley

20.05.2021 - Vienna, Austria

Doppler, Arvaniti, Ludwig, Herrera and Keizer have been part of the event for a long time

The amazing Vienna beach volleyball fans will have the opportunity of being part of the EuroBeachVolley for the first time this summer but the A1 CEV European Championships Vienna 2021 will feature a lot of veterans, including players who have long and successful journeys in the tournament.

With the start of the EuroBeachVolley dating back to 1993, some players who are expected to compete in Vienna in the 29th edition of the tournament have built a long and strong legacy in the event, so let’s highlight five of them:

Clemens Doppler

When it comes to longevity, no one beats the legendary Austrian. Doppler first appeared in the EuroBeachVolley back in 2001 and he remains, 21 years later, as one of the top players in the continent. Now 40, the Austrian was 18 at the time of his debut in the event with Peter Gartmayer and still managed to finish fourth. He has appeared in 15 other editions of the tournament since then, having shared the court and won it twice, in 2003 with Nikolas Berger and in 2007 with Gartmayer. His list of accomplishments also includes a silver medal with Matthias Mellitzer in 2010 and a bronze medal with his current partner Alexander Horst in 2014.

Vasiliki Arvaniti

A staple for Greek beach volleyball, the 36-year-old Arvaniti is the active woman with the oldest memories from the EuroBeachVolley as she first appeared in the tournament back in 2003, when she was just 18, with Efthalia Koutroumanidou. She claimed her first victory two years later with longtime partner Vasso Karadassiou and repeated it in 2007. A three-time Olympian, the left-handed Arvaniti also took silver in 2012, this time with Maria Tsiartsiani. The Greek legend appeared in 12 editions of the event between 2003 and 2016, when she took a break from her career to become a mother. She returned in 2019 and finished ninth with Penny Karagkouni.

Laura Ludwig

If you’re looking for longevity and success, look no further than Laura Ludwig. One of the greatest stars of international beach volleyball, the German first competed against the best in the continent back in 2004. Since then, she missed just two editions, totaling 15 appearances in the EuroBeachVolley. Most impressively, the reigning Olympic champion has finished in the top ten in all but the first of them and is the woman with the most medals won at nine. Five of those came with Sara Goller – gold in 2008 and 2010, silver in 2007 and 2009 and bronze in 2011 – and the other four with Kira Walkenhorst – gold in 2015 and 2016 and bronze in 2013 and 2014.

Pablo Herrera

Pablo Herrera was another Olympic medalist to debut in the EuroBeachVolley in the 2004 edition of the tournament, less than a month after he won silver at the Athens 2004 Games with Javier Bosma. He went to win gold in 2005 with Raul Mesa, which would become the second of the 16 appearances Herrera has already registered in the tournament. Now 38, the Spanish partnered with Adrian Gavira in 2009 and won a bronze medal in their first attempt. The two have remained together since then, playing in 11 editions of the tournament and winning gold in 2013 and bronze again in 2018.

Sanne Keizer

Sanne Keizer’s first appearance in the EuroBeacVolley also happened in 2004, when she was only 19. She competed in six of the next nine editions and was part of the first Dutch women’s teams to top the podium as she took gold with Marleen van Iersel in 2012 after getting two fifths and a fourth in the previous three years. She took a break from the sport after the 2013 edition of the tournament and didn’t return until 2018. Her comeback, however, couldn’t have been any more remarkable as in the first season after transitioning from blocking to defense she secured another title, this time with Madelein Meppelink and in front of their home fans in The Hague.

Die 5 erfahrensten Spielerinnen und Spieler der Europameisterschaften

21.05.2021 - Wien

Doppler, Arvaniti, Ludwig, Herrera und Keizer sind bei den Europameisterschaften alte Bekannte.

Die unglaublichen Wiener Beachvolleyball-Fans werden diesen Sommer zum ersten Mal die Gelegenheit haben, Teil der EM zu sein, aber die A1 CEV Europameisterschaften 2021 werden viele Veteranen aufweisen, darunter Spieler, die eine lange und erfolgreiche Reise bei diesem Turnier vorzuweisen haben.

Da der Start der Europameisterschaften auf das Jahr 1993 zurückgeht, haben einige Spieler, die bei der 29. Ausgabe des Turniers in Wien erwartet werden, eine lange und starke Vergangenheit zu diesem Event aufgebaut, also lasst uns fünf von ihnen hervorheben:

Clemens Doppler

Wenn es um Langlebigkeit geht, macht dem legendären Österreicher keiner etwas vor. Doppler nahm 2001 zum ersten Mal an der EM teil und ist auch 21 Jahre später noch einer der besten Spieler des Kontinents. Der heute 40-jährige Österreicher war bei seinem Debüt mit Peter Gartmayer 18 Jahre alt und schaffte es trotzdem auf den vierten Platz. Seitdem hat er an 15 weiteren Ausgaben des Turniers teilgenommen und es zweimal gewonnen, 2003 mit Nik Berger und 2007 mit Peter Gartmayer. Zu seinen Erfolgen gehören auch eine Silbermedaille mit Matthias Mellitzer im Jahr 2010 und eine Bronzemedaille mit seinem aktuellen Partner Alexander Horst im Jahr 2014.

Vasiliki Arvaniti

Die 36-jährige Arvaniti ist eine feste Größe im griechischen Beachvolleyball und die Aktive mit den ältesten Erinnerungen an die EM, denn sie nahm erstmals 2003, als sie gerade 18 Jahre alt war, mit Efthalia Koutroumanidou am Turnier teil. Ihren ersten Sieg holte sie zwei Jahre später mit ihrer langjährigen Partnerin Vasso Karadassiou und wiederholte ihn 2007. Als dreifache Olympionikin holte die Linkshänderin Arvaniti auch 2012 Silber, diesmal mit Maria Tsiartsiani. Die griechische Legende nahm zwischen 2003 und 2016 an 12 Ausgaben des Events teil, als sie eine Pause ihrer Karriere einlegte, um Mutter zu werden. Im Jahr 2019 kehrte sie zurück und wurde mit Penny Karagkouni Neunte.

Laura Ludwig

Wenn du nach Langlebigkeit und Erfolg suchst, findest du Laura Ludwig. Als eine der größten Stars des internationalen Beachvolleyballs trat die Deutsche erstmals 2004 gegen die Besten des Kontinents an. Seitdem hat sie nur zwei Ausgaben verpasst und insgesamt 15 Auftritte beim Turnier absolviert. Beeindruckend ist, dass die amtierende Olympiasiegerin bis auf eine Ausnahme immer unter den Top Ten gelandet ist und mit neun Medaillen die meisten gewonnen hat. Fünf davon gewann sie mit Sara Goller - Gold 2008 und 2010, Silber 2007 und 2009 sowie Bronze 2011 - und die anderen vier mit Kira Walkenhorst - Gold 2015 und 2016 sowie Bronze 2013 und 2014.

Pablo Herrera

Pablo Herrera war ein weiterer olympischer Medaillengewinner, der sein EM-Debüt in der 2004er Ausgabe des Turniers gab, weniger als einen Monat nachdem er mit Javier Bosma Silber bei den Spielen in Athen gewonnen hatte. Mit Raul Mesa holte er 2005 Gold, was der zweite von insgesamt 16 Auftritten Herreras bei diesem Turnier werden sollte. Der heute 38-jährige Spanier tat sich 2009 mit Adrian Gavira zusammen und gewann bei ihrem ersten Versuch die Bronzemedaille. Seitdem sind die beiden unzertrennlich, haben an 11 Ausgaben des Turniers teilgenommen und 2013 Gold sowie 2018 Bronze gewonnen.

Sanne Keizer

Sanne Keizer's erster Auftritt fand ebenfalls 2004 statt, als sie erst 19 Jahre alt war. Sie nahm an sechs der nächsten neun Ausgaben teil und war Teil des ersten niederländischen Frauenteams, das auf dem Podium stand, als sie 2012 zusammen mit Marleen van Iersel Gold holte, nachdem sie in den drei Jahren zuvor zwei fünfte und einen vierten Platz erreicht hatte. Nach der 2013er-Ausgabe des Turniers legte sie eine sportliche Pause ein und kehrte erst 2018 zurück. Ihr Comeback hätte jedoch nicht bemerkenswerter sein können, denn in der ersten Saison nach dem Wechsel vom Block zur Verteidigung sicherte sie sich einen weiteren Titel, diesmal mit Madelein Meppelink und vor ihren Heimfans in Den Haag.