Europeans dominate Olympic rankings

07.06.2021 - Vienna, Austria

22 teams of the continent have qualified to Tokyo and two more will follow next month

Beach volleyball teams from Europe secured 17 of the 30 spots for the Tokyo Olympics put in play over the course of the last two and a half years by finishing in the top 15 of the men’s and women’s Olympic rankings.

The list is expected to be officially confirmed by the International Volleyball Federation (FIVB) on June 13, the closing date of the rankings, which were formed by the top 12 international results of each team in the period, but with no more relevant tournaments set to happen until there, it’s already possible to measure the continent’s dominance in the process.

European teams filled nine of the top 15 spots in the men’s Olympic rankings, including the top one, which belongs to Norwegians Anders Mol and Christian Sørum, the team that had the highest total among both genders at 10,960. They will enter the Olympics as the top-seeded duo.

Three other teams from the continent are also guaranteed in Tokyo as they qualified via other pathways – Russians Oleg Stoyanovskiy and Viacheslav Krasilnikov won the 2019 World Championship while Latvians Martins Plavins and Edgars Tocs and Italians Daniele Lupo and Paolo Nicolai triumphed at the International Olympic Qualifier in that same year.

Three European countries also managed to secure the maximum of two slots per gender among the men as Russia will also see Konstantin Semenov/Ilya Leshukov compete in Tokyo and Italy will have Adrian Carambula/Enrico Rossi joining Lupo and Nicolai while Poland will be represented by Grzegorz Fijalek/Michal Bryl and Piotr Kantor/Bartosz Losiak.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Adri (@adrian_carambula)

Among the 24 European male players guaranteed in Tokyo, five are Olympic medalists – Lupo and Nicolai won silver in Rio 2016, the Netherlands’ Alexander Brouwer and Robert Meeuwsen took bronze in that same edition and Plavins snatched bronze in London 2012. The European contingent also features eight past Olympians and 11 players that will be making their first appearance in the Games.

Among the women, Europe was able to secure more than half of the Olympic rankings spots as well, taking up eight of them. The top European team in the rankings was the one of Swiss Nina Betschart and Tanja Hüberli, who secured 7,040 points to rank sixth overall.

As with the men, European teams were also able to qualify via other methods as 2019 European champions Tina Graudina and Anastasija Kravcenoka of Latvia and Spanish Liliana Fernandez and Elsa Baquerizo booked their tickets to Tokyo back in 2019 in the International Olympic Qualifier.

Betschart and Hüberli will be joined by fellow Swiss and reigning European champions Joana Heidrich and Anouk Vergé-Dépré in Tokyo. Germany has also secured the maximum of two spots with Karla Borger/Julia Sude and Laura Ludwig/Margareta Kozuch.

A Rio 2016 champion, Ludwig is the only Olympic medalist among the European players. The list has ten other players who will be returning to the Olympics in Tokyo and nine who will be appearing for the first time.

Europe is guaranteed another berth in each gender in the Olympics at the Continental Cup. The tournament will be played in the Hague, the Netherlands, from June 23-26, and the winners will also qualify for the Olympics. The four other Continental Cup winners (South America, North and Central America, Asia and Africa) will complete the 24-team fields for the Olympics.

The Olympics will take place from July 23-August 8 and we expect all of our European stars back in the continent shortly after it for a fantastic A1 CEV EuroBeachVolley Vienna 2021 presented by Swatch from August 11-15.

Well done, guys!   

 

Men

Olympic Ranking

1 – Anders Mol/Christian Sørum (Norway) – 10,960

2 – Cherif Younousse/Ahmed Tijan (Qatar) – 7,720

3 – Alison Cerutti/Alvaro Filho (Brazil) – 7,720

4 – Grzegorz Fijalek/Michal Bryl (Poland) – 7,480

5 – Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen (Netherlands) – 7,400

6 – Evandro Goncalves/Bruno Schmidt (Brazil) – 7,320

7 – Julius Thole/Clemens Wickler (Germany) – 7,200

8 – Konstantin Semenov/Illya Leshukov (Russia) – 7,140

9 – Ondrej Perusic/David Schweiner (Czech Republic) – 7,040

10 – Jake Gibb/Taylor Crabb (USA) – 7,040

11 – Phil Dalhausser/Nick Lucena (USA) – 7,040

12 – Pablo Herrera/Adrian Gavira (Spain) – 6,560

13 – Piotr Kantor/Bartosz Losiak (Poland) – 6,420

14 – Adrian Carambula/Enrico Rossi (Italy) – 6,380

15 – Marco Grimalt/Esteban Grimalt (Chile) – 6,140

2019 World Championships

Oleg Stoyanovskiy/Viacheslav Krasilnikov (Russia) – 9,180

2019 Olympic Qualifiers

Daniele Lupo/Paolo Nicolai (Italy) – 6,880

Martins Plavins/Edgars Tocs (Latvia) - 6,000

Host Country

Katsuhiro Shiratori/Yusuke Ishijima (Japan)

 

Women

Olympic Ranking

1 - April Ross/Alix Klineman (USA) – 9,400

2 - Agatha Bednarczuk/Duda Lisboa (Brazil) – 9,040

3 - Ana Patricia Ramos/Rebecca Cavalcanti (Brazil) – 8,800

4 - Taliqua Clancy/Mariafe Artacho (Australia) – 7,640

5 - Kelly Claes/Sarah Sponcil (USA) – 7,440

6 - Nina Betschart/Tanja Hüberli (Switzerland)  - 7,040

7 – Nadezda Makroguzova/Svetlana Kholomina (Russia) – 6,920

8 – Heather Bansley/Brandie Wilkerson (Canada) – 6,860

9 – Joana Heidrich/Anouk Vergé-Dépré (Switzerland) – 6,720

10 – Sanne Keizer/Madelein Meppelink (Netherlands) – 6,680

11 – Fan Wang/Xiniy Xia (China) – 6,220

12 – Barbora Hermannová/Marketa Sluková (Czech Republic) – 6,180

13 – Karla Borger/Julia Sude (Germany) – 6,120

14 – Laura Ludwig/Margareta Kozuch (Germany) – 6,000

15 – Marta Menegatti/Viktoria Orsi Toth (Italy) – 5,700

2019 World Championships

Sarah Pavan/Melissa Humana-Paredes (Canada) – 9,400

2019 Olympic Qualifier

Liliana Fernandez/Elsa Baquerizo (Spain) – 5,960

Tina Graudina/Anastasija Kravcenoka (Latvia) – 5,800

Host Country

Miki Ishii/Megumi Murakami (Japan)

Europäische Teams dominieren das Olympiaranking

07.06.2021 - Wien

22 europäische Teams haben sich für Tokio qualifiziert, zwei weitere folgen nächsten Monat.

Von den 30 Startplätzen für die Olympischen Spiele konnten sich Beachvolleyball Teams aus Europa innerhalb der letzten zweieinhalb Jahre 17 Plätze sichern, indem sie unter den ersten 15 der Olympia-Rangliste der Herren und Damen landeten.

Die endgültige Liste wird voraussichtlich am 13. Juni, dem Stichtag für die Rangliste, offiziell vom Internationalen Volleyball-Verband (FIVB) bestätigt. Diese bildet sich aus den zwölf besten internationalen Ergebnissen jeder Mannschaft in diesem Zeitraum. Da bis dorthin aber keine weiteren relevanten Turniere mehr auf dem Programm stehen, kann man bereits jetzt schon die Dominanz der europäischen Teams ablesen.

Bei den Männern belegten europäische Teams neun der ersten 15 Plätze im Olympia-Ranking, einschließlich des Spitzenplatzes, den die Norweger Anders Mol und Christian Sørum innehaben. Die beiden sicherten sich mit 10.960 Punkten auch geschlechterübergreifend die höchste Gesamtpunktzahl und gehen als Top-gesetztes Duo in die Olympischen Spiele.

Drei weitere europäische Teams sind in Tokio ebenfalls fix dabei, konnten sich aber über andere Wege qualifizieren: Die Russen Oleg Stoyanovskiy und Viacheslav Krasilnikov gewannen die Weltmeisterschaft 2019, während sich die Letten Martins Plavins und Edgars Tocs und die Italiener Daniele Lupo und Paolo Nicolai den Sieg bei dem International Olympic Qualifier im selben Jahr sichern konnten.

Bei den Herren schafften es drei europäische Länder, sich die maximale Anzahl von zwei Startplätzen pro Geschlecht zu sichern: Für Russland wird Konstantin Semenov mit Ilya Leshukov als zweites Team in Tokio antreten, aus Italien sind Adrian Carambula/Enrico Rossi neben Lupo und Nicolai mit von der Partie und für Polen konnten sich sowohl Grzegorz Fijalek/Michal Bryl als auch Piotr Kantor/Bartosz Losiak qualifizieren.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Adri (@adrian_carambula)

 

Unter den 24 europäischen Spielern, die bereits sicher für Tokio qualifiziert sind, befinden sich auch fünf Olympiamedaillengewinner. Lupo und Nicolai holten Silber in Rio 2016, im selben Jahr gewannen Alexander Brouwer und Robert Meeuwsen Bronze und Plavins konnte sich in London 2012 ebenfalls Bronze sichern. Das europäische Aufgebot umfasst weiters acht ehemalige Olympiateilnehmer sowie elf Teilnehmer, die bei den diesjährigen Spielen ihre Premiere feiern werden.

Bei den Damen konnten sich Teams aus Europa mit acht Startplätzen ebenfalls mehr als die Hälfte der Olympia-Ranglistenplätze sichern. Das beste europäische Team im Ranking war hier das Schweizer Duo Nina Betschart und Tanja Hüberli, das mit 7.040 Punkten den sechsten Platz belegte. 

 

 

Wie bei den Männern konnten sich die europäischen Damenteams auch auf anderem Wege für die Olympischen Spiele qualifizieren. So buchten die Europameisterinnen von 2019, Tina Graudina und Anastasija Kravcenoka aus Lettland, sowie die Spanierinnen Liliana Fernandez und Elsa Baquerizo über die Internationale Olympiaqualifikation bereits 2019 ihr Ticket für Tokio.

Neben Hüberli/Betschart werden für die Schweiz auch die amtierenden Europameisterinnen Joana Heidrich und Anouk Vergé-Dépré in Tokio dabei sein. Auch für Deutschland tritt mit Karla Borger/Julia Sude und Laura Ludwig/Margareta Kozuch das Maximum von zwei Teams pro Nation in Tokio an.

Die Goldmedaillistin von Rio 2016, Laura Ludwig, ist die einzige Olympiasiegerin unter den europäischen Spielerinnen. Daneben finden sich zehn weitere Athletinnen, die vor Tokio schon bei Olympischen Spielen am Start waren und neun, die zum ersten Mal dabei sind.

Beim Continental Cup ist dem europäischen Teilnehmerfeld bei jedem Geschlecht noch ein weiterer Startplatz bei den Olympischen Spielen garantiert. Das Turnier wird vom 23. bis 26. Juni im niederländischen Den Haag ausgetragen, die Sieger qualifizieren sich direkt für die Spiele. Die vier anderen Gewinner des Continental Cups (Südamerika, Nord- und Mittelamerika, Asien und Afrika) vervollständigen das 24-köpfige Startfeld für Tokio.

Die Olympischen Spiele finden vom 23. Juni bis 8. August statt, wenig später erwarten wir alle unsere europäischen Stars wieder zurück in der Heimat, wenn kurz danach die fantastischen A1 CEV Beach Volleyball Europameisterschaften presented by Swatch in Wien von 11. bis 15. August stattfinden.

Gut gemacht, Leute!       

 

Männer

Olympische Rangliste

1 - Anders Mol/Christian Sørum (Norwegen) - 10,960

2 - Cherif Younousse/Ahmed Tijan (Katar) - 7,720

3 - Alison Cerutti/Alvaro Filho (Brasilien) - 7,720

4 - Grzegorz Fijalek/Michal Bryl (Polen) - 7,480

5 - Alexander Brouwer/Robert Meeuwsen (Niederlande) - 7.400

6 - Evandro Goncalves/Bruno Schmidt (Brasilien) - 7.320

7 - Julius Thole/Clemens Wickler (Deutschland) - 7.200

8 - Konstantin Semenov/Illya Leshukov (Russland) - 7.140

9 - Ondrej Perusic/David Schweiner (Tschechien) - 7.040

10 - Jake Gibb/Taylor Crabb (USA) - 7.040

11 - Phil Dalhausser/Nick Lucena (USA) - 7.040

12 - Pablo Herrera/Adrian Gavira (Spanien) - 6.560

13 - Piotr Kantor/Bartosz Losiak (Polen) - 6,420

14 - Adrian Carambula/Enrico Rossi (Italien) - 6,380

15 - Marco Grimalt/Esteban Grimalt (Chile) - 6,140

 

Weltmeisterschaften 2019

Oleg Stoyanovskiy/Viacheslav Krasilnikov (Russland) - 9,180

 

2019 Olympia-Qualifikanten

Daniele Lupo/Paolo Nicolai (Italien) - 6.880

Martins Plavins/Edgars Tocs (Lettland) - 6.000

 

Gastgeberland

Katsuhiro Shiratori/Yusuke Ishijima (Japan)

 

Damen

Olympische Rangliste

1 - April Ross/Alix Klineman (USA) - 9.400

2 - Agatha Bednarczuk/Duda Lisboa (Brasilien) - 9,040

3 - Ana Patricia Ramos/Rebecca Cavalcanti (Brasilien) - 8,800

4 - Taliqua Clancy/Mariafe Artacho (Australien) - 7.640

5 - Kelly Claes/Sarah Sponcil (USA) - 7,440

6 - Nina Betschart/Tanja Hüberli (Schweiz) - 7,040

7 - Nadezda Makroguzova/Svetlana Kholomina (Russland) - 6,920

8 - Heather Bansley/Brandie Wilkerson (Kanada) - 6,860

9 - Joana Heidrich/Anouk Vergé-Dépré (Schweiz) - 6,720

10 - Sanne Keizer/Madelein Meppelink (Niederlande) - 6,680

11 - Fan Wang/Xiniy Xia (China) - 6,220

12 - Barbora Hermannová/Marketa Sluková (Tschechien) - 6.180

13 - Karla Borger/Julia Sude (Deutschland) - 6,120

14 - Laura Ludwig/Margareta Kozuch (Deutschland) - 6,000

15 - Marta Menegatti/Viktoria Orsi Toth (Italien) - 5.700

 

Weltmeisterschaften 2019

Sarah Pavan/Melissa Humana-Paredes (Kanada) - 9.400

 

Olympia-Qualifikation 2019

Liliana Fernandez/Elsa Baquerizo (Spanien) - 5.960

Tina Graudina/Anastasija Kravcenoka (Lettland) - 5,800

 

Gastgeberland

Miki Ishii/Megumi Murakami (Japan)