Beach Shorts

18.06.2021 - Vienna, Austria

The week in the sands of the world

Welcome, beach volleyball fans, to another edition of Beach Shorts. This is a rare weekend with no World Tour action whatsoever but there some important developments for the sport announced over the last few days.

A drawing of lots has determined the path every European nation will have in the Continental Cup Finals as they try to qualify for the Olympics. At the same time, the actual draw for Tokyo now has date and location to happen.

Action also continues on national tours around the world with the top German team hitting the sand this weekend and their American counterparts knowing when they will be able to do the same.

That’s what we have for today, so spare a few minutes and read all of it below:

Draw completed for European Continental Cup Finals

One final Olympic berth for European teams at the Tokyo Olympics will be in play next week at the Continental Cup Finals and a draw held this week in the Hague, the Netherlands, the host city of the event, determined the brackets for the men and women. Teams from 16 countries in each gender will play in a single-elimination format from June 23-26 with the winners securing a spot for the National Federations in the Games.

Olympic drawing of lots to be held in Moscow

Speaking about drawing of lots, another really important one that will take place on European soil will be the Olympic one, which, as confirmed by the FIVB, will happen in Moscow, Russia, on July 5. Currently, 38 of the 48 teams that will compete in Tokyo between the end of July and the start of August are already qualified while the other ten (five in each gender) will be determined in next week’s Continental Cups.

German Tour back to action

The best German beach volleyball teams will compete for a second-straight week in Düsseldorf in the series of tournaments that will determine the qualified teams for the German Championships later in the summer. Sandra Ittlinger/Kim Behrens and Clemens Wickler/Rudy Schneider won the first one and this week one of the highlights of the event will be the first appearance of Julia Sude and Karla Borger.

Social Media: AVP releases calendar

After a long wait, the AVP, the top tour in the United States, announced its calendar for the 2021 season. The shortened season will have three events in Atlanta, Manhattan Beach and Chicago, all after the Olympics, between mid-August and early September.

 

See you next week!

Beach Shorts

18.06.2021 - Wien

Die Woche auf den Courts rund um die Welt

Willkommen, liebe Beachvolleyball-Fans, zu einer weiteren Ausgabe von Beach Shorts. Dies ist ein seltenes Wochenende ohne World Tour Action, aber es gibt einige wichtige Entwicklungen für den Sport, die in den letzten Tagen angekündigt wurden.

Die Auslosung hat ergeben, welchen Weg jede europäische Nation im Continental Cup Finale einschlagen wird, um sich für die Olympischen Spiele zu qualifizieren. Gleichzeitig hat die eigentliche Auslosung für Tokio nun Datum und Ort.

Auch auf den nationalen Touren rund um den Globus geht die Action weiter: Deutschland läuft dieses Wochenende in Bestbesetzung auf und ihre amerikanischen Kollegen wissen, wann sie das gleiche tun können.

Das ist alles, was wir für heute haben, also nehmt euch ein paar Minuten Zeit und los geht es:

Auslosung für das Finale des European Continental Cups abgeschlossen

Ein letzter Olympia-Platz für europäische Teams bei den Olympischen Spielen in Tokio wird nächste Woche bei den Continental Cup Finals ausgespielt. Eine Auslosung, die diese Woche im niederländischen Den Haag, der Gastgeberstadt des Events, stattfand, hat die Gruppen für die Männer und Frauen bestimmt. Teams aus 16 Ländern in jedem Geschlecht werden vom 23. bis 26. Juni in einem Einzelausscheidungsformat spielen, wobei sich die Sieger einen Platz für die nationalen Verbände bei den Spielen sichern.

Olympische Auslosung findet in Moskau statt

Apropos Auslosung: Eine weitere wichtige Auslosung auf europäischem Boden wird die olympische Auslosung sein, die, wie die FIVB bestätigt hat, am 5. Juli in Moskau, Russland, stattfinden wird. Derzeit sind 38 der 48 Teams, die zwischen Ende Juli und Anfang August in Tokio antreten werden, bereits qualifiziert, während die anderen zehn (fünf in jedem Geschlecht) in den Continental Cups der nächsten Woche ermittelt werden.

Deutsche Tour wieder im Einsatz

Die besten deutschen Beach-Volleyball-Teams treten in Düsseldorf in der zweiten Woche in Folge zu der Turnierserie an, die die Qualifikanten für die Deutschen Meisterschaften im Spätsommer ermitteln wird. Sandra Ittlinger/Kim Behrens und Clemens Wickler/Rudy Schneider gewannen das erste und in dieser Woche wird eines der Highlights der Veranstaltung der erste Auftritt von Julia Sude und Karla Borger sein.

Soziale Medien: AVP veröffentlicht Kalender

Nach langem Warten hat die AVP, die Top-Tour in den Vereinigten Staaten, ihren Kalender für die Saison 2021 bekannt gegeben. Die verkürzte Saison wird drei Events in Atlanta, Manhattan Beach und Chicago haben, alle nach den Olympischen Spielen, zwischen Mitte August und Anfang September.

 

Bis nächste Woche!